Stuart one of four Southern Saints named to the VFLW Team of the Year

By on September 13, 2022 0

Hannah Stuart’s sensational VFLW campaign has been rewarded with a place in the VFLW Team of the Year 2022, as well as podiums in the VFLW Coaches MVP and the Lambert-Pearce for Best and Fairest Player in the League. competition.

Stuart, drafted into AFLW side St Kilda after his brilliant season, was named alongside Southern Saints Winnie Laing, Grace Buchan and Tayla Kearnswith red, white and black enjoying the second highest representation in the 21-woman roster.

The striker-turned-midfielder led the VFLW in total eliminations (405) at the end of the season, averaging 23 touches, seven tackles and six clearances per game before joining his teammate. Deanna Jolliffe in St Kilda for season 7.

Stuart garnered 14 votes in the Lambert-Pearce Medal tally to sit tied with Collingwood’s Matilda Zander, with Essendon VFLW Premiership captain Georgia Nanscawen taking the honor with 33 votes from a possible 36. She also finished second to Nanscawen in the inaugural VFLW Coaches MVP 69 votes to 63.

Since being drafted from St Kilda last June, the 28-year-old has featured in all three AFLW Season 7 matches to date and been inducted into the club’s Emerging Leaders group despite her limited time. at RSEA Park.